Monumental

I bought a new phone.

A gaming phone.

To be honest, when I chose the Nubia Red Magic to be my next smartphone mobile gaming wasn’t in my plans. It just was the best quality/price option for my priorities (actually: it was a true bargain, all considered). But then again, I got a gaming phone in my hands for the very first time, and it was just a matter of time before I started exploring its full potential.

After a shockingly easy first attempt at Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds I decided to dig deeper into the Play Store, and try as many good Android games as I could. I asked my friends for some advice, and got a pretty decent list to start with.

The first game I decided to download and try is Monument Valley. This little gem has been on my wish list for a while, and finally I gave it a try. I was not disappointed, on the contrary I found a marvelous crafted game that mixes excellent level design with delicate aesthetic choices.

Requiescat In Pace

Elegance is the first word that comes to my mind when thinking of Monument Valley.

It is elegant in the way levels intersect with each other, recalling Escher’s visual style, and creating nearly impossible geometric connections thanks to a well developed isometric point of view. Some scenarios are astonishing, jaw-dropping: of all, the box level showed so much charisma and attention to detail that I instantly fell in love with it.

It is elegant in its storytelling, as the playthrough builds upon a story mainly told with essential titles and short dialogues. They say that synthesis is a gift for great storytellers, and this game demonstrates that one can narrate something appealing by using just a few words. Plus, the aesthetic design helps in building a consistent world, a setting with great appeal.

It is elegant in its visuals and sounds, both minimalist and really inspiring. The pastel colors remind me of children’s books and artwork, but then there is this mix with Unity’s 3D voxel elements that creates an odd contrast, pointing towards modernity, and adulthood. In the meantime, delicate audio strings keep your mind relaxed enough to stay focused, and think about the next move. Clever, efficient, charming.

The overall experience pays back the player with a melancholic vibe, and although it doesn’t last long, Monument Valley is one of those games that leave a bittersweet scar on the player’s mind. For good, I mean.

I surely look forward to play the second episode, but first would like to let it sink a little bit more in my memories, and crystallize there.

Silent, and elegant.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.